Skip to content

In Every Thing Give Thanks!

November 26, 2008

Tomorrow is Thanksgiving here in the US. A time when people think about the things that they are grateful for. For some, it is the only day of the year that they bother to do so.

As Christians we are told in I Thess. 5: 16-18 to “Rejoice evermore. Pray without ceasing. In every thing give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

In EVERY THING give thanks. EVERY THING?

There are things that it is easy for me to be thankful for:

1.) God’s love and mercy for us that was shown through Jesus.

2.) My Husband – He is amazing and wonderful and the best husband that a woman could ever want

3.) The fact that my physical needs are provided for

4.) My family and true friends

But there are also things that are very difficult for me to be thankful for:

1.) Our current church(less) situation. I suppose here that what I need to thank God for is the fact that He released us from a church that had stopped glorifying Him. I also need to focus on the fact that each time that God has brought change into my life, that it has ALWAYS worked out for His glory; therefore this will as well.

2.) Me. Yep. I struggle with being thankful for me. Does that sound strange? Let me explain. I know that God created me to glorify Him. I know that in itself is an amazing calling. However, I can’t help but second guess God and think, “Why?” Why did He create this frail, flawed, failed person? BUT that is where I need to find the thankfulness. He created me…just as I am with the plan to make me into who HE wants me to be. I need to continually give thanks for that!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

