Skip to content

Stupid Ice Storm

December 15, 2008

Still no power.  Still no heat.  Still no water.  Our pipes may freeze and there is nothing that we can do to stop it.  Generators are impossible to find and even if we could find one we would have to find an electrictian to install it.  Rumor is that it could be up to two weeks before we have power.  Kinda puts a damper on Christmas.

There is a song by Nichole Nordman that is called “Graditute”.  Here are some of the words:

Daily bread, give us daily bread
Bless our bodies, keep our children fed
Fill our cups, then fill them up again tonight
Wrap us up and warm us through
Tucked away beneath our sturdy roofs
Let us slumber safe from danger’s view this time
Or maybe not, not today
Maybe You’ll provide in other ways
And if that’s the case …

We’ll give thanks to You with gratitude
A lesson learned to hunger after You
That a starry sky offers a better view
If no roof is overhead
And if we never taste that bread

“Maybe not.  Not today.  Maybe you’ll provide in other ways an if that’s the case…”  Well, that is the case right now.  And boy is it hard to be thankful.  I am thankful that my family took us in.  I am thankful that we have a warm place to be.  But, honestly?  Honestly, I am stressed and worried.  I am worried about what we will find when the power comes back.  I am worried about what Christmas will be like.  I am stressed because I have missed two days of work.  And somehow even with my family around me, I feel lonely.  I feel distant and scared.  My husband is wonderful and is doing his best to reassure me, but I can tell that this is stressful for him as well.  My step-father is not too impressed to have us here and my mother can understand why we aren’t in the Christmas spirit right now.

My husband just got back from work.  We are going to head to the house and check on things.

One Comment leave one →
  1. screamofcontinuousness permalink
    December 16, 2008 10:01 am

    please post to let us know how things are. I’m worried about you.

Leave a Reply

