Skip to content

My Affinity to Sea Glass

January 14, 2009

I Love Sea Glass! I always have, but several years ago I realized just how much I am like sea glass.

Several years ago, I was going through some “stuff”.  God was challenging me and I had had enough.  At that time, I lived a mile from the ocean.  Everyday I would walk along the beach and I would talk to God.  Actually it was more like yelling. “God! What more do you want from me? I am serving you. I am doing what you want! You don’t have to make my life so hard! This isn’t worth it! What more do you want from me?”

Each day as I was walking on the beach and having my rant at God, I would find pieces of sea glass. Sea glass is a piece of glass from a smashed bottle or some other broken glass item that was thrown into the ocean. As the waves bash it against the rocks and sand, it eventually becomes smooth.

Finally after a few weeks of my self-pity filled rants, I began to stop ranting and actually started praying. I still asked God what He wanted from me, but this time, I was actually listening for Him to answer. And eventually the answer came.

One day as I was walking the beach, I again found a piece of sea glass. As I picked it up and held it in my hand, God spoke to my heart and said, “You are a piece of glass. You have rough spots that can only be softened by the trials that I am allowing you to go through. One day the roughness will be smoothed and made beautiful.”

To this day, I love sea glass.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

