Skip to content

God Forbid

January 15, 2009

I was listening to my mp3 player on my forty-five minute drive home from work last night.  A song  by Point of Grace came on called “God Forbid”.  I had heard the song a couple times before, but hadn’t really paid attention to the lyrics.  But tonight with nothing to do, but drive and listen, I paid more attention.

“The more I know your power, Lord
The more I’m mindful
How casually we speak and sing your name
How often we have come to you
With no fear or wonder
And called upon you only for what we stand to gain

God forbid, that I find you so familiar
That I think of you as less than who you are
God forbid, that I should speak of you at all
Without a humble reverence in my heart
God forbid

Lord, I often talk about your love and mercy
How it seems to me your goodness has no end
It frightens me to think that I could take you for granted
Though you’re closer than a brother
You’re more than just a friend

You are father, God almighty
Lord of lords, you’re King of kings
Beyond my understanding
No less than everything”

I replayed the song over and over until I got to my house.  I felt my heart cry out, “God! Do I take you for granted?  Have I become too comfortable with my relationship with You?”

Sometimes I think that we focus so much on God being our Friend, that we forget that first and foremost He is our infinitely pure, wise, amazing, powerful Savior.  We spend so much time treating Him like our personal ATM, that we forget that He doesn’t OWE us anything but He DESERVES everything we have to give.

Friendship with God requires an special kind of intimacy.  Friendship with God requires obedience.  Jesus said in John 15:14 You are my friends if you do what I command.  How often do we enjoy singing “I am a friend of God” wanting to enjoy the perks of friendship with Him, but not wanting to pay the price of having that friendship?

In order to be friends with God we must first be willing to give Him our all.  So the next time you sing “I am a friend of God”, ask yourself if you can say that and truly mean it.

God forbid that we think of Him as anything less than who He is.  God forbid that we give Him anything less than what He deserves.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

