Skip to content

The Making of History

January 20, 2009

Today is an historic day. Today The United States of America swears in its first black President. Regardless of political party affiliation, all Americans should take note of this amazing time in the history of our nation.

I did not vote for Barak Obama. However I will pray for him, as I did for President Bush. I will hope the best for him, recognizing that in order for The United States of America to succeed and continue to be such a great country, President Obama must not fail.

When he makes choices that I do not agree with, I will let my voice be heard; however I refuse to criticize, demonize and demoralize him personally the way that some did to President Bush. I know that over the next four years there may be many times that I will have the opportunity to poke fun of, put down or disrespect President Obama, but I will not.

Romans 13:1 says “Everyone must submit himself to the governing authorities, for there is no authority except that which God has established. The authorities that exist have been established by God.” This is not to say that God only allows Godly leaders to be put into power or that President Obama will make Godly decisions. Instead this means that God did not just allow Obama to become president, but that somewhere in His immense cosmic design He predestined Obama to become president in order to fulfill His plan for our future.

Romans 13:7 says “Give everyone what you owe him: If you owe taxes, pay taxes; if revenue, then revenue; if respect, then respect; if honor, then honor. As President of the United States (PotUS), President Obama is owed respect. I may not respect his decisions. I may not respect his views. But he is in a position that commands and deserves respect.

So today, I say, “Congratulations, President Obama. May you govern with integrity and justice.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

