Skip to content

Change is in the Air and a Brick is in my Stomach

January 21, 2009

All day yesterday, people spoke of the change that was in the air, but all that I felt was a brick in the pit of my stomach. A nagging feeling that this historical inauguration was somehow tainted. Tainted by the fact that while we have historically and proudly elected the first black president, he is a man who speaks words referring to God, but has actions that are far from godly. A man who possibly today will sign the death warrant for thousands of pre-born babies. A man who while saying he is “rooted in the Christian tradition,” denies the power of Christ. My heart is indeed heavy.

When I returned home from work last night, I hesitated before turning on the television. I just didn’t want to see any more Obama-Mania Media Worship. But I turned on the TV and turned to Fox News. I am so glad that I did because they were showing Midland, Texas’s welcome home for President Bush. As I heard President Bush speak once again, I was reminded why I love this man. He talked of his love of Texas and his love of his country. He got a bit teary when thanked his parents. He talked about meeting and falling in love with his wife and how blessed he is. But most importantly, he thanked God and talked of his personal relationship with God. “I am grateful for the prayers of the American people. I have been sustained and strengthened and comforted by an almighty God during eight years as your president.”

I am having a hard time letting go of this president. Not just because I agreed with him often (though not always), but because I know that he is a God-fearing man who sought to live his with integrity and with the goal of glorifying God.

I firmly believe that the opposition that President Bush received during his time as President was because he strove to live and to guide the country by Godly morals and the forces of evil wanted that to stop.

“I never took an opinion poll to tell me what to think,” Bush said. “When I walked out of the Oval Office this morning, I left with the same values that I took to Washington eight years ago; when I go home tonight, and I look into the mirror, I’m not going to regret what I see.”

Not many presidents can say that.

Also, if you want to read more about President Obama and the Christian’s response, please head over to The Heart of a Pastor’s Wife for an excellent post

pray-for-obama125x1251

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 22, 2009 2:00 am

    Amen, sister. I echo all of these things.

Leave a Reply

