Skip to content

Prayer and Patience

January 23, 2009

OK.  I admit it.  I am not patient.  Not at all!  (Just ask my poor husband.)

But Psalm 38:15 says “I wait for you, O LORD; you will answer, O Lord my God.”

Isaiah 40:31 says “But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint.”

Isaiah 30:18  says “And therefore will the LORD wait, that he may be gracious unto you, and therefore will he be exalted, that he may have mercy upon you: for the LORD is a God of judgment: blessed are all they that wait for him.”

Wait! Wait! Wait! But I am always in a hurry.  I can’t even sit still and watch a movie unless  I am sick.  I have two speeds:  Off and On.  When I am off, then there is no getting me going.  When I am on, then watch out because nothing will stop me.  No wonder I haven’t been hearing from God lately.  I am not stopping long enough to hear His voice.  I talk to Him and then I either don’t shut up long enough to hear Him or I just get caught up in my daily life and become to busy to hear Him.

Just Wait!  But do you know how daunting of a task that seems?

One Comment leave one →
  1. screamofcontinuousness permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:06 pm

    I am so with you. I think it is because we see waiting as inactive. God sees waiting as a dramatic pause.

    Look at it this way: how much fun would it be to go see a play if all the actors just rantheirwordsrightontopofoneanotherandneversomuchasstoppedforbreath?

    It’s all about pacing and sometimes a pause before the end of the line, before the answer comes, can make the answer sweeter. Can heighten the meaning. can make us pay attention.

Leave a Reply

