Skip to content

Panic! at the Restaurant

February 4, 2009

How can the idea of having to go pick up take-out Chinese food send me into a panic spiral? I honestly don’t know how, but I know that it does. My husband and I were just chatting on-line about what to do for dinner. Normally we do our grocery shopping on the weekends; however I was very sick this weekend, so nothing got done…including grocery shopping. Therefore we have no food in the house. My husband suggested pizza. I suggested Chinese. We decided to go with the Chinese.

OK. Simple enough. But who was going to pick up the food?  We both drive right past the restaurant on our way home from work. My husband mentioned that it would be nice if I would pick it up so that he would have a little bit of time to do a few things at home. The following is my increasingly panicked response:

Me: Ok first let me say that I do not want to do this and it completely stresses me out.
Second let me say that if you really want me to, then I will try, but I will not guarantee that I will accomplish the task because if I can’t park in front of the place, then I will panic and leave
Thirdly
NO
I won’t do it
Sorry
New plan:  I will make us something at home.  Sorry

Hubby: Ok I’ll get the food

Me: no it is ok
Panic attack stress
Crying now panic more stress
Heart pains tears oh no!

Oh Gosh…I just wrote a Haiku!

(OK So even when I am panicking I still maintain my sense of humor.)

But still, this is not normal!! Normal people can go to a stupid Chinese Restaurant without having a panic attack! I am not normal!

Why do I panic like this? Because I am afraid that I will run into “X”, my abusive ex-husband who recently got out of jail. Ever since I found out that he was getting out of jail, my panic attacks have been getting worse and worse.  This is not fun.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. screamofcontinuousness permalink
    February 6, 2009 7:35 pm

    that is not a panic attack for an obscure reason. It is plain simple keep-you-alive CAUTION. please don’t let your husband ask you to go ANYWHERE where X could EVER show up.

  2. February 6, 2009 7:44 pm

    It is just so hard to live our lives in fear that X could show up. It just doesn’t seem fair that I should still fear him!

Leave a Reply

