Skip to content

Thirsty Thursdays

February 5, 2009

I live very close to a college town.  It is actually the college that my husband and I went to, but I digress.  Anyway, there is a local restaurant chain that advertises “Thirsty Thursdays”.  Every Thursday, they offer all kinds of specials on alcoholic beverages.  They did this when I was in school and are still doing it.   They get lots of business on Thursdays.  In fact, I remember that most of my Friday morning classes were a bit lower in attendance because of people over-indulging (i.e binge drinking) the night before.   They were thirsty and often it wasn’t just on Thursdays.  But they were thirsting for the wrong thing.

As I was reading Psalm 63, I started thinking about being thirsty and of how I want to thirst only for God.  So I decided that every Thursdays, I will host “Thirsty Thursdays” right here on my blog.

Today on this first Thirsty Thursday, I figured that I would look at the verse that inspired Thirsty Thursdays:

Psalm 63

O God, you are my God,
earnestly I seek you;
my soul thirsts for you,
my body longs for you,
in a dry and weary land
where there is no water.

Have you ever been in a desert?  Have you ever been in a desert and have no water to drink?  I went on a missions trip to Mexico…in August. It was hot…really really HOT.  And we were in an area where it was advised to not drink water that was not purified.  It was 110 degrees.  And we ran out of purified water.  We were all very thirsty.  There was a tiny dingy looking shack where snow cones were being sold. My friend bought a snow cone.  And as I watched him quenching his thrist with the snow cone, my thirst worsened.  Shortly after he had consumed his snow cone, our leaders brought us fresh water.  I drank like I had never drank before.

That night, while I enjoyed more water (purified, of course) with the yummy local cuisine, my friend was in the outhouse losing not just that day’s lunch, but I think that he was quite possibly losing a whole week’s worth of lunches and dinners and breakfasts!  He had quenched his thirst with something that was poison to his system.

I think that we do that when it comes to God.  We thirst for Him.  But look to quench our thirst in the wrong places.  We seek Him for a minute, but when He doesn’t answer fast enough for us, we seek a quicker more tangible fix.

It seems like everywhere we look there is a “snow cone” hut that wants to offer us a quick fix to quench our thirst.  I guess that Psalm 63:1 is a good verse to tuck inside my heart to remind me to only thirst for God.  Because it is only in Him that my thirst will truly be quenched.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

