Skip to content

Thirsty Thursday!

February 12, 2009

Thirsty

Matthew 5:6 says “Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.”  I think that this is a “You Are What You Eat” kind of verse.  If we hunger and thirst for righteousness, then you will “eat” things that are righteous.  We will feast upon the word of God.  We will drink in His presence as your worship.  And as we do that we will be come more and more Christ-like.

But if we hunger and thirst for things that are not righteous or Godly, then we will fill ourselves with worldly and sinful things…and we will NEVER BE FULL.  Have you ever watched any of those silly celebrity reality shows?  It is complete train wreck television, but it is a perfect example of people who are filling themselves with worldly and sinful things.  They have everything, but they are never satisfied and never happy.

Jesus is pretty specific about what it takes to be satisfied.  We will only be full, complete and satisfied when we hunger and thirst for Him.

Audio Adrenaline has a song called “God Shaped Hole.”  The lyrics go like this:  You may have tried to fill that hole inside with an empty hand you reached in vain. / Substitutes don’t work, bandages only hurt. / The only thing that heals is the hand of God.”

We have a vacuum within us that needs to be filled.  If we are not seeking to fill it with things that are of God, then we will only be filling it with substitutes that will never ever complete us and that will actually hurt us.  For a long time, I tried to fill my longing for True Love with things (and people) of this world.  It wrecked me.  I became someone I no longer recognized.  I knew that I had a hunger and desire for something different and I even knew that God was the answer, but it was so hard to admit that I needed HIM.  God had to literally bring me to the end of myself to see that I am NOTHNG without HIM and that to thirst for anything else is a complete waste of time.

Now I remind myself on a daily basis that thirsting and hungering for Righteousness alone will fill me.  What a difference it makes!  When I daily long for more of God, I find myself feeling full, yet still wanting Him more than ever.  It is this awesome craving.  A craving that is fun to have because I know that He will daily fill it.  You can quote me on this:  God is better than Chocolate!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

