Skip to content

Another One?

February 17, 2009

Last week I blogged about some friends of mine who are divorcing.  Today I found out that it looks like there is about to be another divorce.  My best friend from high school this time.  Both she and her husband were in all of my classes in high school.  We all went to driver’s ed together.  We did almost everything together.  They got married when they were 19, had two kids, and up until now had what I thought was a happy marriage.  We don’t hang out as much as we used to, but we are in contact often online.  Their facebook and myspace pages were filled with smiling, family photos and little messages declaring their love for each other.  But last week those photos and messages started mysteriously disappearing.  And this past weekend, both of their facebook and myspace status’s changed to “Single”.

Myspace and facebook are the modern day rumor mill.  And I truthfully do not know how to react when I see things like this.  We usually email each other once a week…do I do that this week and act like nothing is wrong and wait for her to tell me?  Do I email her and ask what is going on?  I don’t know how to react.  My heart is saddened not only by the fact that they appear to have separated, but also by the fact that thanks to myspace and facebook, it is being done in such a public forum.

Divorce sucks.  And this public awkwardness makes it even worse.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Snickelfritz permalink
    February 17, 2009 2:52 pm

    I’m very interested to see if someone wiser than myself provides any guidance.

    My thought would be to send them a personal/private message saying you don’t mean to pry and you don’t know what’s going on, and you don’t want to get in the middle, but you’d still like to offer your support.

Leave a Reply

