Skip to content

Thirsty Thursdays.

March 5, 2009

Thirsty

Lately I have been talking to my husband and my friends A LOT about how I would love to “get away from it all”.  Get away from the snow. Get away from work.  Just get away to some place warm and relaxing…and STRESS FREE!!!

Once again, God knew exactly what I needed to read as I opened up my Bible this morning.

Psalm 55:6-7  “I said, “Oh, that I had the wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest.  I would flee far away and stay in the desert; I would hurry to my place of shelter, far from the tempest and storm.”

Hmmm…I could have written that…maybe not as eloquently, but those are my sentiments exactly.  Fly away.  Be at rest.  Be sheltered from the stresses of everyday life.  I liked that verse and I like the idea of going to “my place of shelter.”  So I did a search at Biblegateway.com for the word “shelter”.  The following verse jumped right out at me:

Psalm 91: 1-2 “He who dwells in the shelter of the Most High will rest in the shadow of the Almighty.   I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress, my God, in whom I trust.”

We spent so much time looking for ways to rest.  Ways to unwind.  Yet we never seem to be able to completely relax.  Perhaps it is because we are looking in the wrong place.  Sure, a movie or TV show may divert your attention for a bit.  A vacation takes you away from your problems…temporarily.  Retail Therapy in today’s economy just isn’t possible for most and is a great way to bankrupt yourself.  There is no place to find perfect and lasting rest.    Let me rephrase that:  There is no EARTHLY way no place to find perfect and lasting rest.

Jesus said, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” (Matthew 11:28)

If my place of shelter is in God, then I will find rest.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

