Skip to content

Thirsty Thursday!

March 12, 2009

Thirsty

I hate washing dishes.  My husband hates taking out the garbage.  We complain about it every time we have to do it.  I complain in my heart, while my husband is, well, let’s say, a bit more outward in his complaints.  Which does indeed drive me crazy.  But we are both wrong in complaining about these necessary (and mundane) chores.  And lately I have felt really convicted about it.

The Bible tells me that I am to “Do everything without complaining or arguing” (Philippians 2:14) and to “Give thanks in all circumstances” (I Thessalonians 5:18).

Complaining is saying that I am not satisfied with what God has given me and is basically accusing Him of not knowing what He is doing.  When I complain, I am putting a wall between myself and God.  Each complaint is another brick in that wall and soon the wall is so big that I can no longer see the blessings that God has given me.

So instead of bemoaning the fact that I have to wash dishes, I should be thankful that God has blessed us with food to eat, a roof to eat under, dishes to eat from, a sink to wash in and running water (which actually I do not have in my kitchen at this time, but that is a post for another time!)

I Corinthians 10:10 says “And do not grumble, as some of them did—and were killed by the destroying angel.”

I guess that washing the dishes is better than being killed by a destroying angel!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

