Skip to content

Happy St Patrick’s Day

March 17, 2009

Here are some interesting St Patrick’s Day Facts

  • “Saint” Patrick was neither a saint nor a Catholic
  • Patrick was a Christian missionary to Ireland
  • March 17th is the day he died
  • His greatest ambition was to bring Christianity to Ireland which was entrenched in paganism.
  • Patrick is credited as being one of the earliest Christian missionaries who traveled to foreign countries to tell about Christ.

“I was like a stone lying in deep mire.  And He that is mighty came, and in His mercy lifted me up, and verily raised me aloft and placed me on tope of the wall.”   From The Confessio by St Patrick

The following prayer is also attributed to St Patrick

“Christ be with me.  Christ be within me.
Christ behind me. Christ before me.
Christ beside me.  Christ to win me.
Christ to comfort and restore me.
Christ beneath me. Christ above me.
Christ in quiet. Christ in danger.
Christ in hearts of all that love me.
Christ in mouth of friend and stranger.
2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2009 11:42 am

    Happy St. Patrick’s day! He was one of the greatest evangelists in history.

  2. March 18, 2009 4:49 am

    Happy St. Patty’s Day also!

Leave a Reply

