Skip to content

Lunch with an Old Friend

March 27, 2009

Today I am having lunch with a friend from my “single” days.  We were both single at the same time.  We watched each other fall in love and get married.  Me first and then her.  I actually helped the two of them get together!

She is twenty weeks pregnant!  This is the first time that I am seeing her since she announced that she was pregnant.  I saw her at the beginning of her pregnancy and just knew that she was pregnant.  I looked at her and was about to ask, but she knew what I was going to say and immediately said “Don’t ask!”  She and her husband were so afraid of having a miscarriage that they decided not to tell anyone until they were three months along.  But she can’t keep these things from me!  I can read her like a book!

I am truly happy for her.  She and her husband will be wonderful parents.  They both love Jesus and will set great examples for their child.

But I would be lying if I said that I didn’t feel a little sad for myself too.  I always thought that I would be the one to get pregnant first.  And I do so wish that I was the pregnant one with the pregnant belly and the “reason” to eat that extra slice of pizza at lunch today.  (Yep.  She’s craving pizza, so that is what we are having!)

I am not the pregnant one.  But my good friend is, so today is all about her!  Lunch talk will be about the baby.  And I will enjoy dropping hints about the presents that I have already bought for her and the baby!  And I will have fun because even though I am not a mom yet, I am a friend and she deserves to have a good one.

One Comment leave one →
  1. screamofcontinuousness permalink
    March 30, 2009 11:51 am

    HUG.

Leave a Reply

