Skip to content

Thirsty Thursday

April 16, 2009

Thirsty

I have trust issues.  I know that my husband loves me, but I don’t trust that he will always love me.  I know that my friends like me, but I don’t believe that they will like me if I trust them with who I really am.  I know that God is God, but it is easier to do things myself than to rest in His arms and let Him doing things His way.

Those first two trust issues are self-confidence issues.  The last issue, well, it is a self-ISH issue.  I know God is God and I know that I am supposed to trust Him, but do you know why I don’t want to trust Him to do things His way?  Because I usually don’t like His way.  His way tends to be the more painful and difficult way.  And that really truly annoys me!

God could make everything easy (and let’s be honest here…I like things to be easy), but He doesn’t.  I want the “quick fix” and God won’t give it to me.  Oh, of course I know why.  I know that it is because “the testing of your faith develops perseverance” (James 1:3) and “In this you greatly rejoice, though now for a little while you may have had to suffer grief in all kinds of trials. These have come so that your faith—of greater worth than gold, which perishes even though refined by fire—may be proved genuine and may result in praise, glory and honor when Jesus Christ is revealed” (I Peter 1:6-7)

And I continually remind myself that I need to let God be God, simply because He is God  And since He is God, then He can do no wrong…everything He does is just and right…even if it annoys me!

Job 8:13-15 says “Such is the destiny of all who forget God; so perishes the hope of the godless. What he trusts in is fragile ; what he relies on is a spider’s web.  He leans on his web, but it gives way; he clings to it, but it does not hold.”

Psalm 22:4-5 says “In you our fathers put their trust; they trusted and you delivered them. They cried to you and were saved; in you they trusted and were not disappointed.”

Psalm 32:10 says “Many are the woes of the wicked, but the LORD’s unfailing love surrounds the man who trusts in him.”

We are told again and again that those who trust in God will not be disappointed and that His love will cover us.  Some people want to foolishly assume that means that our lives will always be peachy and perfect, but the truth is that there are some times in our lives when we have to say as Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego did in Daniel 3, “God is able to save me, but even if He doesn’t, I will still serve Him!”

Because it all comes down to the fact that if God is God, then we must give Him our trust and have faith that someday, in some way HIS good will come to pass in our lives.

Psalm 31:14 “But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

