Skip to content

Thirsty Thursday

April 23, 2009

thirsty-cross

OK.  Let’s be honest.  The economy is in bad shape and we don’t know when it will recover.  Predictions can be made, but the truth is that only God knows the future and God will do what God wants to do. (Isaiah 46:9-10)

Hubby lost his job this week.  Laid off and given no hope or promise of return.  That was certainly not my plan.  But because I believe that God has a plan for my life and for Hubby’s life, I know that somehow this works into God’s plan for our lives.

I would be lying if I said that Hubby’s unemployment excited me.  To be completely honest, I don’t like it one bit.  But that isn’t because I am scared of the future.  I’m not scared because I know that God is in control.  The reason I don’t like what is happening is because I have come to enjoy our standard of living.  I have come to enjoy the fact that if we want to go out to eat, we can.  If we want to go away for the weekend, we can.  We have never been rich by anyone’s definition; however when Hubby graduated two years ago, things became much easier.  (I guess that is what happens when you have two incomes and no kids.)

Now things will be strained and we will have to make what money we have stretch farther.  No more weekend trips.  No more “Honey, I don’t want to cook tonight. Let’s go out.”  No more “just because” gifts.  I liked our standard of living.  Probably too much.  While I have never been materialistic, I have grown comfortable with the material things that this world offers.

I John 2:15-17 says “Do not love the world or anything in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him. For everything in the world—the cravings of sinful man, the lust of his eyes and the boasting of what he has and does—comes not from the Father but from the world. The world and its desires pass away, but the man who does the will of God lives forever.”

I don’t want to be so comfortable here that I stop yearning for the treasure of Heaven.

Phil 3:13a-14 “But one thing I do: Forgetting what is behind and straining toward what is ahead, I press on toward the goal to win the prize for which God has called me heavenward in Christ Jesus”

Hubby’s lay-off is the past.  God has a new present and a new future for us.  But regardless of what He brings us or allows us to go through, our hope must fully rest in God.  And our treasure must always be in Heaven.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

