Skip to content

Breakfast with a Friend

August 13, 2009

I have a friend who has worked at a donut shop for almost 20 years.  She basically eats, breathes and sleeps donuts.  Remember the old Dunkin Donuts commercial “Time to Make the Donuts?”  You know, the one where the guy wakes up when the rest of us are going to bed and heads to work chanting, “It’s time to make the donuts.”  Well, that is my friend.  She works at a bakery, makes their donuts, then stands at the counter and sells the donuts she made.

A few weeks ago, I asked her if she wanted to go out for breakfast.  And then without thinking I said, “Or we can grab coffee and a donut and then go shopping.”  She grimaced and adamantly shook her head back and forth.

Boy, did I feel silly!  I just offered her something that she has day-in and day-out!  We ended up going to a nice little breakfast nook where she proceeded to get almost every non-donut item on the menu!

That whole experience got me thinking…and here is what I came up with:  The churches that are focusing on “leveraging culture” and being “relevant” are doing exactly what I did to my friend.  They are offering donuts to the donut lady.  They are offering the world to the world.   An unbeliever who is searching for something more won’t want “more of the same”.  We aren’t going to reach a donut-maker by offering them donuts.  We aren’t going to reach the Starbucks coffee drinker by offering them Sunday morning coffee.  We aren’t going to reach the world by offering them the world.  We will only reach them through the Holy Spirit working in their hearts!  We will only reach them with Christ’s love.  And Christ’s love never has to be watered down with Starbucks coffee, jazzed up with a little U2, or doctored up with a techno-colored digitally produced micro-commercial.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 13, 2009 4:15 pm

    BEAUTIFUL !!!!!!

  2. julijules permalink
    August 14, 2009 8:51 am

    Absolutely perfectly made point! I have been feeling this struggle in my search for a church. Your words articulate it so well.

    Thank you.

  3. August 14, 2009 6:30 pm

    It is so difficult to find a good church. My dad tells me of the days when there were good churches on almost every block. My husband and I have found that we have to drive 45 minutes to find one that is “just OK”. When will Christians realize that all that a church needs to be a good church is to focus on glorifying God. Once that happens, then everything else will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

