Skip to content

James 1

March 22, 2010

Things have gotten a bit rough over the past few months.  I am emotionally, spiritually and physically tired.  Don’t really even have the energy to think, let alone come up with some witty blog worthy comments.

I am spiritually lacking and I am not sure how to fix it.  I have been pleading to feel God’s presence again, but to no avail.  Part of me is angry at that.  Part of me wants to give up.  But all of me knows that I need to press on.

So in an attempt to get something right, I am going to work on analyzing and memorizing James 1.  I am going to try to ignore the fact that I feel rather abandoned by God and just press on with the hope that at some point soon, He will make Himself palpably present again.  Maybe it is His choice to withhold His presence from me, but, more than likely, it is my fatigue and discouragement that is keeping me from fully engaging myself in His presence.

So Here Goes…

James 1: 2-4 (NIV) “Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete not lacking anything.”

The theme of those three verses is Perseverance.

Romans 5:3-4 tell me that Suffering produces Perseverance; Perseverance produces Character; and Character produces Hope.

In the King James Version, the word “Perseverance” is replaced with the word “Patience”.

Application to myself:  I suck at patience (aka Perseverance), which must be why when I suffer, I do not seem to exhibit good character and I lack hope.  That probably means that I will continue to be placed in difficult situations until I learn patience and develop a better (read: more Christ-like) character.  One of the most (if not the most) difficult situations for me to be in is for me to not feel God’s presence.  Could He perhaps be withholding Himself from me so that I persevere until I grab hold of Him again?  Or am I just so lacking in patience that as soon as the going gets hard I just pull into my shell and don’t allow myself to feel His presence?  Maybe some of both?  Maybe neither?  Would it matter if I knew the answer?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lynn permalink
    March 22, 2010 4:52 pm

    I’m reading and journalling through James at the moment (http://rreflectionsonlife.blogspot.com) and am so amazed by what I am reading, it is as if I have never read this book before (or maybe it is because I am only taking a verse or two at a time instead of reading through the whole book in one sitting so am concentrating more instead of skim reading!!!) . What gets me is not only the perseverance, but the joy, because I definitely am not full of joy when I am struggling :(. I guess it’s one of those learning curves we all go through at times, so you are definitely not alone here in feeling the absence of God, in being tired and discouraged.

    I am glad you are blogging again as yours is one that I enjoy reading and learn so much from. So nice to have you back 🙂

  2. March 23, 2010 8:25 am

    Psalm 37 and 73. One of the items addressed in these chapters is that if we let our emotions rule us, we will be like the beast of the feild – sensless and ignorant. Please don’t leet your emotions (your feeling of whether or not god is favoring you right now) rule your life. you KNOW God is with you. He has promised this – I will never leave you nor forsake you. He doesn’t say “I’ll leave you sometimes” he says I WILL NEVER LEAVE YOU.

    also remember – God is light – in him there is NO DARKNESS AT ALL.

    God does not with-hold himself from you.

    On the other hand – neither is this something You can do anything about. No effort of yours is going to make you FEEL more loved by God.

    You just have to trust.

    love you so much sweet sister in Christ. and Please KNOW (not feel, KNOW) that God loves you too.

    Deirdre

Leave a Reply

