Skip to content

Sing a New Song

May 17, 2010

I tend to think musically.  When I want to memorize something, I put it to music.  When I hear a consistent (buzzing, dripping, knocking etc) noise I need to start humming along to the song I hear it make.  When I am happy, I sing.  When I am concentrating, I hum or whistle.  When my mood needs a boost, I play uplifting music.

I think that God must really enjoy music as well.  He created us to sing.  Moses and Miriam sang praises to God.  God gave Moses a song and commanded that he teach it to the Israelites (Deuteronomy 31:19).  Deborah’s song to the Lord is recorded in Judges 5.  II Samuel 22 records a song of God’s victory sung by David.

Speaking of David, he was a man filled with music.  He played the harp.  He sang.  He danced.  His songs are recorded in the Psalms as well as in other books of the Bible.

The Israelites sang praises to God not just when they were victorious in battle, but also when they were preparing for battle and actually engaged in battle (II Chronicles 20).  As sacrifices and offerings were made, songs were sung.  As the temple was purified, songs were sung (II Chronicles 29).  Singing and music is mentioned so often throughout the Bible that there can be no question that God created us to live musical lives.

In fact, I think that perhaps our lives are music to God.  But unfortunately, our “lifesongs” can be rather flat, at best, and more often are a chaotic jumble of misplaced notes and unharmonious chords.

Singing a NEW song is mentioned six times in the Psalms (Psalm 33:3, 40:3, 96:1, 98:1, 144:9, 149:1), once in Isaiah (Isaiah 42:10), and twice in Revelation (Rev 5:9, 14:3).

Doing something NEW implies that there was once something OLD.

What is your “old song”?  Perhaps you do not have a relationship with Christ and you are singing a song of hopelessness.  Perhaps you know Christ, but your old song has grown into something vain and repetitious.  Perhaps you are singing a song of guilt or of worthlessness.  Perhaps you are singing a song of hurt or of loneliness.

Every morning begins a new day.  Each new day gives us the chance to get rid of our old song and allow God to give us a new song to sing.

My old song is of self-reliance.  Today’s new song is of complete faith and trust in God.

What is your new song?

Psalm 144:9 I will sing a new song to you, O God

One Comment leave one →
  1. Days of Grace permalink
    May 17, 2010 3:35 pm

    I love the thought of exchanging our old songs for His new ones. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

