Skip to content

Facing the Giants in Real Life

June 15, 2010

Hubby and I watched Facing the Giants this past weekend.  Facing the Giants is by the same group that made the movie Fireproof.

I have very, very conflicting feelings about Facing the Giants.  On one hand, it is a “feel good” movie filled with Biblical truths and has a happy ending.  (I hate movies that end sad.)  However, both Hubby and I struggled watching this movie.  We are going through many of the things that the characters were going through.  Job issues.  Money issues.  Infertility.

The main character, Grant Taylor, and his wife Brooke have a house that is falling down around them in disrepair, but don’t have enough money to fix it.

They have a car that won’t stay running.

They have a deep longing to have children, yet have not been able to conceive.

Tears streamed down my face when Grant asks Brooke if she will still love God if He doesn’t allow her to have children.  I have had to ask myself that very question.  And on bended knees, with a face full of tears, I told God that Yes, I would still love Him if He doesn’t allow me to have a baby.

There was a strong message on trusting God in the bad times and letting Him lead you through.  The other message of the movie was that as Christians we should use our lives to glorify God in everything that we do…everything, even football.  Hubby and I try to live our lives that way, but it seems that a reminder (or twelve) is needed every once in a while to keep us on track.

******  SPOILER ALERT ******

Those aspects of the movie I really liked, but I started to struggle with the movie as it was coming to an end.  Within moments of the characters trusting God, they got exactly what they wanted from him.

Grant had a car given to him anonymously.

Grant’s losing football team began winning games.

Issues with their house were fixed.

And as soon as Brooke answered that yes, she would love God even if she never had a baby, she immediately found out that she was pregnant.

******  END SPOILER ******

Real life giants do not go down that easy.  Hubby still does not have a job.  We are completely trusting God to guide us, but no job has popped up yet.

Our house is falling apart, but no one has stopped by to give us money to fix it.

I have pledged my love to God even if He never gives me a baby, but I still remain childless.

We trust God to guide us, not so that He will give Hubby his dream job, but because we want to be in the center of God’s will.

We fix the house the best we can and glorify Him in spite of the maintenance issues, not because we expect God to give us a new house, but because God is worthy of our praise.

I love God will all my heart, soul, body, and mind, not so that He will give me a baby, but because He is worthy of my love…in good times and in bad.

Real life giants do not fall as easy as they did in Facing the Giants.  To expect them to, is to not understand what the Bible truly says about following Christ.

Real life giants do not disappear when we trust God.  In fact, sometimes they grow even larger.  But when you have God standing next to you as you face your real life giants, the giants shrink under the shadow of the powerful strength of our almighty God.

1 Peter 4:12-13 “Dear friends, do not be surprised at the painful trial you are suffering, as though something strange were happening to you. But rejoice that you participate in the sufferings of Christ, so that you may be overjoyed when his glory is revealed.”

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Brown permalink
    June 15, 2010 9:31 pm

    Very true, real life giants don’t just disappear. Have you ever watched Flywheel? It is their first movie. It has the same “feel-good” ending, but it shows the man’s struggle with obedience. As a writer, I would love to paint the picture of a character that struggles to remain faithful in the midst of despair…but that just doesn’t sell without the happy ending. In the end, your goal is to get the message out…that God is bigger than your giants, and He is worthy of all of your love, praise, your very life – despite any circumstances.

    I will continue to pray for you and your husband!

  2. June 16, 2010 6:35 am

    Michelle, you are right…it is next to impossible to sell a movie without a happy ending. And I am glad that Facing the Giants had a happy ending. My only concern is that perhaps people will see this movie and think that serving God will take away all their earthly problems. It just doesn’t work that way. God is not some genie in the sky who will grant all our wishes. We set ourselves (and especially new believers) up for failure if we think that is what a relationship with God is all about. But I have a feeling that I am probably “preaching to the choir” when I say that 😉

    Thank you so much for your prayers! God is good!

  3. Michelle Brown permalink
    June 16, 2010 1:33 pm

    You are right, and I totally see where you are coming from. I get so frustrated when I see pastors giving invitations that promise freedom from troubles when you come to Christ. Like your article stated, the Bible clearly portray the opposite. But your relationship with Christ offers peace in the midst of the storm, and when you are facing your giants.

    I might blog about this, would you mind if I quoted you and create a link to this post?

  4. June 16, 2010 1:48 pm

    I have no problem at all! It is a really great subject because it gives us the chance to tell about the true peace, strength, and joy that God gives us.

Leave a Reply

