Skip to content

From the Inside Out

June 17, 2010
A thousand times I’ve failed
Still Your mercy remains
And should I stumble again,
I’m caught in Your grace.
-From the Inside Out, Hillsong

(Click here to listen to the song as you read)

More like ten thousand!  My failures are many, for sure.  I used to allow Satan to throw them back in my face daily.  But now, when he tries to make me feel like I do not deserve to be forgiven and used by God, I remind him of God’s mercy and grace.  Praising God for His mercy and grace, reminds Satan just how powerless he is and it reminds me just how great of a God I serve.

From the Inside Out, by Hillsong, has become a theme song for me lately.  The first verse (which begins with the lines that I quoted above) reminds me of God’s grace, mercy, and forgiveness.  As I sing or listen to that part of the song, I remember that the chains of sin that once bound me are gone!  What an amazing and freeing feeling!

The next verse begins with “Your will above all else, my purpose remains.”  That is my daily prayer.  Daily I give up my “wants” by telling God that it is His will that I seek, not my own.  My purpose, my very drive in life, is to follow God’s will.  Words cannot describe how strongly I want this.  I want my every thought and every step to be guided by God’s will for my life.  It has become my passion…my plea.  “My heart and my soul, Lord, I give you control.”

Consume me!  The Merriam Webster dictionary defines “Consume” as “to do away with completely.”  What a wonderful thought!  “Consume me from the inside out.”  Do away with the me that is not of You, Lord.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

