Skip to content

Condoms for Kindergarteners

June 24, 2010

I am enraged right now.  Downright furious.

“The school committee in Provincetown [MA] unanimously adopted a condom distribution policy for the elementary school and high school on Tuesday.”

Yes, you read that right.  ELEMENTARY SCHOOL!  UNANIMOUSLY!

Let me clarify that I do not live in Provincetown, nor would I ever live in Provincetown.  Provincetown is known throughout New Engand as being a haven for debauchery.  It is famous for gay bars, adult stores and raunchy “festivals”.  But I did not think that even Provincetown would sink so low as to UNANIMOUSLY vote to give condoms to FIVE-YEAR-OLDS.

According to the article that I linked to above: “If a student, of any age, asks for a condom, they must talk to a counselor or a nurse.”   BUT…some members of the committee objected to that!

Who in their right mind would think that it would be OK for a five-year-old to get a condom and not be asked why?!  Oh…wait….they are NOT in their right minds!

Another article that I read said “The committee also directed school leaders not to honor demands from parents who object to their kids receiving protection.” Seriously?!  Are you kidding me?  Those are the bad people in this?  Parents who don’t want their five-year-olds getting condoms?

Condoms are not the protection that elementary school children need.  They need protection from people who think that it is OK for children to be having sex!  They need protection from people who think that children need to be aware of sex acts!

LSS is six and up until a couple of months ago (when we told her), she did not even know that boys and girls have different parts!  Six year olds should not be losing their innocence, especially not at the hands of ‘educators’!  They should not even KNOW the details of sex, let alone be having it!

Call me naive.  Call me an ignorant conservative.  But the fact is that an elementary student is not ready in any way, shape, or form  to be having sex!  If a child is engaged sexual activity that requires the use of a condom, then Child Protective Services should act immediately.

I am disgusted.  I am saddened.  And my heart breaks for the children of Provincetown.

Please note: This is my blog.  I have the right to my opinion.  Respectful comments will be allowed, but rude comments by stalkers with an agenda will not.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    June 24, 2010 4:41 pm

    How sad. And then they wonder what’s wrong with the youth of the world today. Well, HELLO- because they’re forcing them to grow up way too soon. What happened to the days when all a kindergartener had to do was learn their ABCs, 123s, and take a nap?! It breaks my heart that they’re being stripped of their innocence.

  2. Michelle Brown permalink
    July 2, 2010 10:03 am

    I saw this on the news, and my jaw dropped. What in the world! I realize kids are having sex earlier these days, but I think we are safe to say that kids aren’t sneaking to have sex in the coloring center.

  3. July 2, 2010 10:16 am

    The whole thing just sickens me! I know that Provincetown is extremely liberal, but this is just ridiculous! I have heard that there has been quite an outpouring of anger throughout the neighboring towns, so they are rethinking the policy. Thank God!

Leave a Reply

