Skip to content

Living Life Now

June 28, 2010

For most of my life (certainly all of my adult life), I have lived life waiting.

When I was a child, I lived life waiting for my parents to stop fighting.

When they didn’t stop fighting and separated, I lived live waiting for them to get back together.

When they didn’t get back together and got divorced, I lived life waiting for the day that I could get married and finally have a secure family.

When I got married, I lived life waiting for the physical, verbal and emotional abuse to stop.

When the abuse didn’t stop and he finally was arrested and locked away, I waited for my divorce.

When the divorce came through, I waited for Mr Right to come around.

When Mr Right came around and we got married, I waited for him to finish college.

When he graduated college, we waited for him to land the perfect job.

When he got laid off from his perfect job, we waited for the next perfect job.

Well, his next perfect job hasn’t come and I am done waiting.  I have wasted enough of my life waiting for something better/different than what I have right now.

Last Thursday, my husband and I both happened to come across the same passage of scripture while we were doing our personal quiet time.  I don’t think that was a coincidence.

In Esther 4, young Esther has been basically forced into a marriage to a king who had never been even considered to be nominated for “World’s Best Husband.”  Yet this marriage gave her the opportunity to request the king to save the lives of her people.  But she was hesitant to ask the King for help because he was known to kill anyone who approached him without invitation.  Her cousin, Mordecai, said to her “Who knows whether you have come to the kingdom for such a time as this?”

What would have happened if Esther had said, “Well, I can’t really do this right now because it just isn’t convenient for me.  I am going to wait until the situation is a bit more perfect.“?

I believe that it all my waiting, I have missed opportunities to glorify God because I failed to recognize that I have been given a place in God’s kingdom for such a time as this.

I need to start Living Life Now!  I need to capture every moment that I can and use it to glorify God.

I don’t need to wait for God to place us in an official church leadership role for God to use us.

I don’t need to wait for Hubby to have the perfect job for God to use what meager resources we have right now.

I don’t need to wait for financial security on this earth to realize that I have a far greater security in heaven.

The time that I have wasted does not belong to me.  It belongs to God.  And I am done wasting His time.

It is time to Live Life Now!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Andrea permalink
    June 28, 2010 12:49 pm

    I completely understand where you’re coming from. My marriage was filled with physical, verbal and emotional abuse. When you’re in the midst of it, you’re almost certain it will never end. That you’ll never get away from it. Once you’re free to experience life again, you realize that there’s so much to take in! So many things you wanted to do, but were bound. I pray you do them and do them well! Go after your heart’s desire! I’ll be here cheering you on all the way!

Trackbacks

  1. Living Life Now – Part 2 « On Becoming New

Leave a Reply

