Skip to content

Who Do You Pray To?

June 30, 2010

“Who do you pray to?”  Have you ever thought to ask yourself that question?  I hadn’t…until last night.  I was not asked that question by someone who was wondering if I prayed to buddha, allah , or Jesus.  She knows that I am a Christian (as is she).  So when I looked at her puzzled and said, “Huh?”  She laughed.

She said, “You pray to God, but what kind of God are you expecting when you pray?”

That really got me thinking.  Do I pray to God expecting that He will criticize and punish me for all my short-comings?

Do I pray to God afraid to tell Him what I am really thinking?

Do I pray to God only when I need something?

If I were to be completely honest, I would have to admit that sometimes I think that perhaps if I say or do the right thing, then maybe God will hear me better.  And if He hears me better, then maybe He will do what I want Him to do.

EPIC FAIL!!!  There are so many flaws in that train of thought.  But the biggest is that sometimes (a lot of times), I pray that He will do what I want Him to do.

I John 5:14-15 says “This is the confidence we have in approaching God: that if we ask anything according to His will, He hears us. And if we know that He hears us—whatever we ask—we know that we have what we asked of him.”

If there is any “trick” to praying, it is this:  If we ask anything ACCORDING TO HIS WILL, He hears us.

My friend asked me if I thought about Ephesians 3:20-21 when I prayed.  I am ashamed to admit that I had to reach for my Bible and look it up before answering her.

Ephesians 3:20-21 Now to Him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to His power that is at work within us, to him be Glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.”

God’s will for us is better than we can imagine!  I think that is what Ephesians 3:20-21 is saying.  If I pray according to my will, then I am missing out because God has better things for me than I can even imagine! (And I can imagine some pretty great things!)

So I have printed out 1 John 5:14-15 and Ephesians 3:20-21 and put them in some prominent places (the bathroom mirror, the visor in my car, and my whiteboard at work.

Feel free to click on the verses below and print them out to help you remember that God’s will is better than anything you could dream of asking!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Michelle Brown permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:56 am

    Awesome post! And something we need to remember, but we are quick to forget.

Leave a Reply

