Skip to content

Do I ‘Deserve’ Good Things?

July 1, 2010

The other day, a co-worker said to me, “I don’t know why this is happening to you. You deserve only good things to happen to you.”

I smiled and thanked her and went on my way.  I didn’t feel like arguing that day.

Everyday, I hear people say, “I deserve it.”

They can’t afford the new iPad, but they are going to get it anyway because they “deserve it.”

They haven’t been given the promotion or raise that they wanted, so they storm into their boss’s office and scream: “I deserve it.”

They demand the latest, greatest, next and best all because they “deserve it.”

We are a country of debtors because of this “deserve it” mentality.  There are people who have never worked a day in their lives demanding that the government pay for their high-speed Internet and flat screen TVs because they “deserve it.”  There are people who never bothered to finish high school demanding that they should be given the same privileges as someone who put themselves though 8 years of college and became a Doctor/Lawyer/etc.  We have a president whose motto is “spread the wealth.”  He wants to take from the rich and give to the poor.  Why?  Because they “deserve it”, of course.

But what do we really deserve?  Do we only deserve good things?  I am a good person who does good things, why aren’t good things happen to me…don’t I deserve them?

“Why do you ask me about what is good?” Jesus replied. “There is only One who is good. If you want to enter life, obey the commandments.”  (Matthew 19:17)

Ummm…I don’t know if you have read the commandments lately, but well…I gotta admit I haven’t always obeyed them.  Therefore, I am not truly a good person.  I have sinned.  I do not deserve anything on earth, much less the mercy of a perfect God.

I John 1:8 says “If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.”

If I got what I truly deserve, I would be a miserable person.

Titus 3:5 says that it is”not by works of righteousness which we have done, but according to His mercy He saved us”

The fact is that I do not DESERVE anything good.  I daily fall short of what God defines as good.  But God in His mercy sent His son to die for the forgiveness of my sins so that I may have  eternal life in Heaven.

This world is not my home.  If good things happen, I will praise God.  If bad things happen,  I will still praise God.

If God chooses to bless me above what He has already done, then I will fall to my knees before my Lord grateful for what He has given me.

But even if I am not blessed while on earth, I will still daily fall to my face before my Savior for what He has done for me.

No, I don’t deserve good things, but I serve a wonderful God “who is able to do immeasurably more than all I ask or imagine”. (Eph 3:20)  And that makes me the luckiest girl in the world!

Leave a Reply

