Skip to content

iPhones, iPads, and Showers (aka: Treasures)

July 2, 2010

Yesterday, I blogged about how I don’t deserve good things.  (No, I am not Eeyore.  I just know that I am far from perfect, especially when compared to an all perfect God.)

Today, can I tell you that I am struggling with WANTING a few good things? 

I admit it:  I want an iPhone 4.  I mean, have you seen the thing?  It is incredible!!  I also want an iPad.  Again..pretty incredible.  I have had the opportunity to play with my friend’s iPhone 4 and iPad.  Yes, he has both!  He is in the financial position that Hubby and I used to be in:  Double Income No Kids (He is a D.I.N.K.).  He is able to afford any new gadget that he wants…without going into debt for them.

Fifteen months ago, Hubby and I were able to do that too.  Hubby had a good job.  Together we were making far more than a family of two needed to live comfortably.  If we wanted something, we could afford to buy it.  In one month alone, we bought a treadmill, a new electronic piano and accessories, and a new flat screen TV.  And we were still able to put money into our savings account that month.  We did it all without any debt other than our house and school loans.  We were quite comfortable.

And then in a blink, everything changed.  Hubby lost his job.  The bonuses at my job stopped coming.  And LSS began living with us full time.  Our income shrank drastically, but our day-to-day expenses increased.  Our savings account is now rapidly shrinking.  Our focus is on buying the bare essentials.  We are hanging in there and can probably continue like this for another year…provided that nothing else goes wrong.  Our shower/bath broke a month ago , so we take sponge baths and wash our hair in the bathroom sink.  We have not spent more than $30 for each other on Christmas and our birthdays.  We have not bought anything for anyone else on Christmas or Birthdays except of course for LSS.  We used to eat out almost daily, now we eat out only when my dad comes to town and treats us to lunch.

I can’t buy an iPhone or an iPad or even a new shower/bath right now.  And sometimes I get a little sad/envious when I see my co-workers and friends with cool new stuff.  But then I get realistic.  I know that some of my co-workers and friends have gone into debt because of their need for “cool new stuff”.  And I know that the next rendition of the iPhone and iPad will probably be out in a year or two.  And I also know that the “cool new stuff” on earth is very very fleeting and certainly won’t be going with me to Heaven.  So I shouldn’t worry about getting all that “cool new stuff” because “what good is it for a man to gain the whole world, yet forfeit his soul?” (Mark 8:36)

Instead I will remember to “store up my treasures in heaven, where moth and rust do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. For where my treasure is, there my heart will be also.” (Matt 6:20-21)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Brown permalink
    July 2, 2010 9:52 am

    I know how you feel. I have an iPhone (old one, not the new one) and I want an iPad. When I told my husband about the new phone, he reminded me that I had a phone that worked well. It’s all about your perspective. I bought the iPhone for a purpose, to be able to write and surf the web easily from any location. But my purpose in upgrading is just a desire to have the next cool thing. For the longest time we had those regular TV’s, and everyone kept saying, “You need to buy a flat screen.” I knew the quality was better, but felt like spending money on something that was working well was ridiculous. I viewed the old TV as a blessing, but the iPhone 4 is a need? My perspective should be the same in both occassions, but our view gets distorted sometimes.

    Great post!

  2. July 2, 2010 12:15 pm

    Totally understand your feelings! While my husband and I are “technically” classified as D.I.N.K’s… our income is actually very little! 🙂 I struggle with wishing I could go out and buy more things, yet I also know there will always be a new toy or clothing item to buy and I would always feel unsatisfied.

    I do try to focus on the fact that we are living debt free (mostly- we just bought our first house) and there is great freedom in knowing you are living within your means, no matter how small those means are! Even more so, I do feel like there is such growth that comes from trusting in the Lord with all of your finances. We’ve sure been blessed to see how He has provided in our first two years of marriage!

    I’ll be praying for yall in the days ahead. Keep up the great posts! I’ve really enjoyed them!

  3. July 2, 2010 12:30 pm

    Abby – It is nice to know that I am not the only one who feels like this! And you are so right, there really is a freedom in knowing that you are living within your means! God is faithful and He will provide for you and me! Thank you for your prayers and your nice comment! 🙂

Leave a Reply

