Skip to content

My Heart’s Desire

September 10, 2010

Eight years ago, if you had asked me what my heart’s desire was, I would have told you that my heart’s desire was to find someone who would truly and unconditionally love me.

Five years ago, if you had asked me what my heart’s desire was, I would have told you that my heart’s desire was for my husband to quickly finish his degree and find a job making lots of money.

Three years ago, if you had asked me what my heart’s desire was, I would have told you that my heart’s desire was to have a baby.

A year ago, if you had asked me what my heart’s desire was, I would have told you that my heart’s desire was for LSS to be legally and completely ours.

My heart’s desire is different now.  God has given me a husband who loves me unconditionally.  God has shown us that Hubby having a job, us having a baby or LSS being ours is not His will right now.

Today, My heart’s desire is to do something truly great for God.  I want more than anything to be a great woman of God.  Not for my glory, but for that of Christ.

Something has been birthed in me over the past few months.  I do not have a clear vision of what God is calling Hubby and I to do, but I have no doubt that we are to throw ourselves at Christ with abandon.

Over the past few days, I have wondered, “Do I have a right to want to do something great for God? … Is it sinful or fleshly to want to do great things for God?”  I told my husband what I was feeling and that I believed that God was calling us to great things.  He looked at me and told me that he has been feeling the same thing.  I asked him if it was wrong to so desperately long to be used by God.  I told him, I don’t want glory or riches or fame.  I just want to serve my Savior.

He said, “Then the only one who will try to convince you that you are wrong is Satan.  And we just can’t let him win, can we?”

William Carey said, “Expect great things from God; attempt great things for God”

Dictionary.com gives 23 definitions of “Great”.

It also gives a bunch of synonyms for the word: Immense, Gigantic, Grand, Noteworthy, Vital, Notable, Momentous.

Jesus gives us a different definition of “Great”:  “The greatest among you will be your servant. For whoever exalts himself will be humbled, and whoever humbles himself will be exalted.”  Matthew 23:11-12

Doing great things for God doesn’t necessarily mean that you have to hold a tent revival where you see thousands come to Christ in one night.  It means praying with your co-worker who has just lost her mother.  It means giving a gift card to a financially struggling family.  It means baby-sitting for your neighbor who is the single mom of three kids.  It means showing Christ’s love in day-to-day life.  Once you are consistently do that, then you are truly doing great things for God!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

