Skip to content

I Took a Break

July 29, 2011

Yes indeed!  I took a break.  A long, unannounced break. 

Last October, LSS went to visit her birth mom for the weekend and when we went to pick her up, they were gone.  Completely gone.  No note.  No warning.  Just gone.  Our hearts broke.  We desperately tried to contact them.  And as the days went by, we became more and more afraid that we would never see or hear from LSS again. 

Finally a call came!  LSS’s birth mom took her to a state on the west coast.  (We are on the east coast.)  She wanted a new life…a new chance to be LSS’s mom.  We were relieved to hear from them, but saddened to even imagine what LSS was going through.  We waited and prayed. 

A week later, we received another call from LSS’s birth mom.  She wanted to come back and give LSS back to us…no questions asked. 

It took her two long weeks to finally get back here.  We went to the airport to pick them up.  When LSS saw us, she burst into tears and just stood sobbing in the middle of a crowd of travellers.  I rushed to her and gathered her up in my arms.  She sobbed and sobbed.  Her birth mother yelled at her to shut up.  I just cuddled and comforted her.

When we dropped her birth mother off at her boyfriend’s house, she  didn’t bother to say goodbye to LSS.  LSS looked at her mom and just watched her go.  As we began our drive home, LSS began to tell us what had happened during those four long weeks that she was away from us.  She had celebrated her 7th birthday.  Been a frequent visitor at a strip club.  She knew how to mix vodka and coke.  She knew more than any seven-year old should.

But we had her back!  And I had my work cut out for me.  So I took a break from blogging and concentrated and getting my little one to once again feel safe and secure.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Brown permalink
    July 29, 2011 2:47 pm

    I am glad you got her back. I don’t mean to be judgemental, but I would say that “mom” is not the best title to describe her birth mother. Mom is the title you bear, for comforting her when she was afraid, holding her when she was crying and loving her through everything. My prayers go out to you and your family!

  2. August 1, 2011 9:51 am

    Thank you so much, Michelle!

Leave a Reply

